Israel Political Brief November 27, 2012: PM Benjamin Netanyahu Meets with Southern Israel Local Council Heads



PM Netanyahu Meets with Southern Local Council Heads

Source: PMO, 11-27-12

Photo by GPO

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, yesterday evening, at his Jerusalem residence, met with local council heads from the south of the country and told them: “The IDF acted with strength, and as soon as the operation’s goals were achieved – we ended it. We will continue to closely monitor the situation to see to it that the quiet is maintained. If it is violated, the IDF is ready to respond strongly. I salute the residents of the south. Their resilience enabled us to achieve the goals that we set.”

Be’er Sheva Mayor Rubik Danilovich, at the start of the meeting, said, “This operation has a prominent achievement – Israel’s strong home front.”

Prime Minister’s Office Director-General Hare Locker, who was appointed by Prime Minister Netanyahu to head the Government team on ensuring that the needs of the residents and communities that were affected by Operation Pillar of Defense are dealt with quickly, said that in addition to the immediate response by the tax authorities regarding compensation for direct damages, the Knesset Finance Committee yesterday approved directives on compensation for indirect damages (loss of work days and compensation for businesses). Moreover, a preliminary NIS 15 million aid package has been approved for local authorities to cover expenses stemming from the security situation.

The following local council heads attended the meeting: Abu-Basma Regional Council Chairman Rahamim Yona, Ofakim Mayor Zvika Greengold, Ashdod Mayor Yehiel Lasri, Ashkelon Mayor Benny Vaknin, Be’er Tuvia Regional Council Chairman Dror Shor, Be’er Sheva Mayor Rubik Danilovich, Bnei Ayish Mayor Mark Bassin, Bnei Shimon Regional Council Chairman Sigal Moran, Gan Yavne Mayor Dror Aharon, Hevel Yavneh Regional Council Chairman Eliezer Benfeld, Hof Ashkelon Regional Council Chairman Yair Firjean, Lachish Regional Council Chairman Danny Morviya, Nahal Sorek Regional Council Chairman Eli Escosido, Omer Mayor Pini Badash, Rahat Mayor Fayez Abu Dahiban, Ramat Hanegev Regional Council Chairman Shmulik Lipman, Sderot Mayor David Buskila, Sha’ar Hanegev Regional Council Chairman Alon Shuster and Rishon Lezion Mayor Dov Tzur.

%d bloggers like this: