33nd Israeli Government



Israel's new government ministers

Ministers and Senior Officials of the 33rd Government of Israel

Source: MFA, 3-18-13

Prime Minister: Benjamin Netanyahu

33rd Government ministers at the President's Residence, 18 March 2013

33rd Government ministers at the President’s Residence, 18 March 2013 (Photo: GPO)


 Shimon Peres – President

33rd Government ministers at the President’s Residence, 18 March 2013
(Photo: GPO)

 Government Ministers

 Benjamin Netanyahu – Prime Minister
Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister of Public Affairs and the Diaspora

 Yitzhak Aharonovitch – Minister of Public Security
 Uri Ariel – Minister of Housing and Construction
 Naftali Bennett – Minister of Trade, Industry and Labor, Minister of Religious Services, Minister for Jerusalem and Diaspora Affairs
 Meir Cohen – Minister of Welfare and Social Affairs
 Gilad Erdan – Minister of Communications and Home Front Protection
 Yael German – Minister of Health
 Yisrael Katz – Minister of of Transportation, National Infrastructures and Road Safety
 Uzi Landau – Minister of Tourism
 Sofa Landver – Minister of Immigration Absorption
 Yair Lapid – Minister of Finance
 Limor Livnat – Minister of Culture and Sport
 Tzipi Livni – Minister of Justice
 Uri Orbach – Minister for Senior Citizens
 Amir Peretz – Minister of Environmental Protection
 Yaakov Perry – Minister of Science and Technology
 Shai Piron – Minister of Education
 Gideon Sa’ar – Minister of the Interior
 Silvan Shalom – Minister of Water and Energy, Minister for Regional Development and the Development of the Negev and the Galilee
 Yair Shamir – Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development
 Yuval Steinitz – Minister of Strategic and Intelligence Affairs responsible for International Relations
 Moshe Ya’alon – Minister of Defense

Deputy Ministers

 Eli Ben-Dahan – Deputy Minister for Religious Affairs
 Danny Danon – Deputy Minister of Defense
 Zeev Elkin – Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs
 Mickey Levy – Deputy Minister of Welfare and Social Affairs

Senior Government Officials

 Yuli Edelstein – Speaker of the Knesset
 Asher Dan Grunis – President of the Supreme Court
Stanley Fischer – Governor of the Bank of Israel
 Lt.-Gen. Benjamin Gantz – IDF Chief of General Staff
 Yehuda Weinstein – Attorney General
 Joseph H. Shapira – State Comptroller and Ombudsman
Rabbi Shlomo Amar – Sephardi Chief Rabbi
Rabbi Yona Metzger – Ashkenazi Chief Rabbi

Government Panel


33nd Government of the State of Israel Headed by Benjamin Netanyahu

Likud Beytenu
Avigdor Lieberman – Foreign Minister
Zeev Elkin – Deputy Foreign Minister
Moshe Yaalon – Defense Minister
Yair Shamir – Agriculture Minister
Yitzhak Aharonovitch – Minister of Internal Security
Sofa Landver – Immigration Absorption Minister
Uzi Landau – Tourism Minister
Gideon Saar or Gilad Erdan – Interior Minister
Yuli Edelstein – Knesset Speaker

The Likud will also get the Communications, Infrastructure, Strategic Affairs and Home Front Defense Ministries.

Yesh Atid
Yair Lapid – Finance Minister
Rabbi Shai Piron – Minister of Education
Yaakov Peri – Minister of Science
Meir Cohen – Welfare Minister
Yael German – Health Minister

Some reports indicated that MK Ofer Shelah may be appointed Deputy Defense Minister.

Bayit Yehudi
Naftali Bennett – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economics and Trade, the Diaspora and Jerusalem
Uri Ariel – Housing and Construction Minister who will also be in charge of the Israel Lands Administration
Uri Orbach – Pensioners’ Affairs Minister
Rabbi Eli Ben Dahan – Deputy Minister of Religious Affairs

Bayit Yehudi will also receive the chairmanship of the Knesset’s Finance Committee (to be given to either MK Nissan Slomianski or Ayelet Shaked), and one of its MKs will be appointed Deputy Minister of Education.

Tzipi Livni – Justice Minister
Amir Peretz – Environment Minister

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: