Full Text Israel Political Brief March 23, 2015: PM Benjamin Netanyahu Apologizes to Israeli Arabs for Election Day Remarks — Transcript

ISRAEL POLITICAL BRIEF

ISRAEL POLITICAL BRIEF: ISRAEL NEWS

PM Benjamin Netanyahu Apologizes to Israeli Arabs for Election Day Remarks

הערב אירחנו, רעייתי שרה ואני, נציגים ממגזרי המיעוטים מכל רחבי הארץ, בבית ראש הממשלה בירושלים. המפגש היה חם ומרגש.

רעייתי פתחה בדברי ברכה: “אנחנו מודים לכם שהגעתם, בית ראש הממשלה הוא הבית של כל אזרחי ישראל”.

אני אמרתי: “אני יודע שהדברים שאמרתי לפני ימים אחדים פגעו בערביי ישראל. לא הייתה לי שום כוונה שכך יהיה. אני מצטער על כך.

“המעשים שלי כראש ממשלה, כולל ההשקעות האדירות במגזרי המיעוטים, מוכיחים את ההפך הגמור. אני חושב, באותה מידה, שאסור ששום גורם מחוץ למדינת ישראל יתערב בתהליכי הדמוקרטיה שלנו.

“אני רואה את עצמי כראש הממשלה של כל אחד ואחד מכם, של כל אזרחי ישראל, ללא שום הבדל של דת, גזע ומין. אני רואה בכל אזרחי ישראל שותפים לבנייתה של מדינת ישראל, משגשגת ובטוחה, למען כל אזרחי ישראל”.

Tonight, my wife Sarah and I’ve hosted, representatives from the minority sectors from all over the country, the Prime Minister’s home in Jerusalem. The meeting was warm and exciting.

My wife opened a greeting said: “We thank you for coming, the Prime Minister’s House is the House of all citizens of Israel.”

I said, “I know what I said a few days ago damaged Israel’s Arabs. I had no intention of it. I’m sorry for that.

“My actions as Prime Minister, including the investment in minority sectors, proves the opposite. I think, equally, not to any customer outside of the State of Israel will intervene in the processes of our democracy.

“I see myself as a Prime Minister of each and every one of you, of all citizens of Israel, without any distinction of religion, race and gender. I see all citizens of Israel share Israel’s deliverance, prosperous and safe, for the benefit of all citizens of Israel. ”

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

